So many hightlights: Robert Turner

24 Jun

Robert TurnerThe LSO’s Discovery programme has been a source of great pleasure to me as a player. When I think back on the range of projects I have been involved in, it is really amazing, and so much more than I could have ever imagined when I joined the orchestra.

It is really hard to pick highlights, the pleasure of walking into a school playground and having a child come up to me and say “do you remember me? I was playing the triangle last year in our piece”, of playing the Elgar string quartet (I especially love playing string quartets) on a Discovery day and having some saying that they had never heard a quartet before and didn’t know it could be so emotional, of collapsing with laughter with a group of adults from the First Monday Club, of seeing such concentration and pleasure on the faces of young string players in Take a Bow.

I have learned so much from working with the orchestra’s wonderful animateurs, Rachel Leach, Mark Withers, Gareth Malone, Paul Rissman, Hannah Conway, Richard McNichol. Their huge expertise turns so many good projects into exceptional ones. I have also really appreciated the commitment, energy and hard work of so many of the staff in the Discovery department. The spirit that motivates the orchestra’s activity is something rare and I hope that it enriches the lives of those with whom we come into contact.

Robert Turner, viola

Leave a Reply

